• USD - 396.02 AMD +0.02 EUR - 431.27 AMD +0.27 RUB - 5.71 AMD +0.71 GBP - 490.04 AMD +0.04

UNESCO 70 Anniversaries

The United Nations Organization for Education, Science and Culture (UNESCO) was founded on 16 November 1945. UNESCO has 195 Members and eight Associate Members. It is governed by the General Conference and the Executive Board. The Organization has more than 50 field offices around the world.

Armenia has joined UNESCO in June, 1992. The head of Permanent Delegation to UNESCO is Charles Andznavour since October 1995. Armenia is covered by the UNESCO office in Moscow. The Armenian National Commission for UNESCO is established in October 1992. Since May 2008 the president of the National Commission has been the Minister of Foreign Affairs Edward Nalbandian.

The UNESCO's Moscow Office Country Programming Document (UCPD) in Armenia was outlined to be linked with and complementary to the first United Nations Development Assistance Framework (UNDAF) for Armenia (2005- 2009) which was aimed at establishing a common framework for all UN Agencies operating in the country. The UNDAF defined the spheres where the program can contribute significant and strategic contribution in order to meet the economic, social, governance and environmental challenges that the country faces. The UN in Armenia within UNDAF would focus on the reduction of economic, social and political inequality pointing out the following the key national priorities:

  • Implementing the Poverty Reduction Strategy Paper;
  • Reaching the international development goals, including the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs);
  • Achieving the rights embodied in the Armenian Constitution and the international conventions and treaties acceded to by the country.

The world heritage sites defined by UNESCO in Armenia are the Monasteries of Haghpat and Sanahin in 1996, the Cathedral and Churches of Echmiatsin and the Archeological Site of Zvartnotc in 2000, and the Monastery of Geghard and the Upper Azat Valley in 2000. UNESCO has included its intangible heritage list the followings; Duduk (Armenian traditional musical instrument) and its music in 2008, Armenian Cross-Stones Art Symbolism and Craftsmanship of Khachkars in 2010, performance of the Armenian epic of ''Daredevils of Sassoun'' or ''David of Sassoun'' in 2012. The preparation, meaning and appearance of traditional bread Lavash as an expression of culture in Armenia is also in this list since 2014.

The UNESCO in its tentative list has included the following 4 properties; the archeological site of the city of Dvin since 1995, the basilica and archeological site of Yererouk since 1995, the monastery of Noravank and the upper Amaghou Valley since 1996, the monasteries of Tatev and Tatevi Anapat and the adjacent areas of the Vorotan Valley since 1995.

Other materials on this subject

Most read




    Humidity: 100%
    Wind: 0.51 km/h
    14 C°
    25°  16° 
    28°  15°